Home Catalog Audiobooks Daughter of Providence


Daughter of Providence

Daughter of Providence

Additional Resources

PDF Sellsheet

Daughter of Providence

Daughter of Providence

Audio Library Digital

07/26/2011

626 minutes

9781611202496

Audio Retail Digital

07/26/2011

626 minutes

9781611202502

Audio CD

07/26/2011

8 Audio CD

626 minutes

9781611202472

Audio MP3 CD

07/26/2011

1 Audio MP3 CD

626 minutes

9781611203660

Playaway

07/26/2011

626 minutes

9781611202519

Description:

Summer, 1934: Anne Dodge was raised by her old-money, New England Protestant father in the small coastal town of Warwick, Rhode Island. She has always been told that her Portuguese mother abandoned them when Anne was a small child, and died without ever contacting them again. After her mother's death, Anne learns that she has a half-sister, Maria Cristina, who was raised among Portuguese immigrants - and when Maria Cristina comes to stay with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about what really happened between her parents, catalyzing events that end in loss and rediscovery.

Quotes:

...promising... Anne, 23, is a memorable heroine and narrator., Publishers Weekly

First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems., Kirkus

Anne is a sympathetic heroine, and Drew's storytelling is compelling., Cleveland Plain Dealer

...a beautifully written and moving debut novel by an important new voice in American fiction., BookReporter.com

A sweeping drama...Drew perfectly captures the old New England feel of her shore-town setting and lavishes attention on the period details that transport readers back to the 1930s...Fans of Tara Hyland and Elizabeth Bard will love this poignant page-turner..., Booklist

Related Titles:


Audiobook

The Best Laid Plans

Lynn Schnurnberger

Audiobook

The Storyteller of Marrake…

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Audiobook

The Adults

Alison Espach

Audiobook

The Sweet Relief of Missin…

Sarah Braunstein

Audiobook

Parents Behaving Badly

Scott Gummer

Audiobook

In Zanesville (CXLD)

Jo Ann Beard