Home Catalog Audiobooks Dear Fahrenheit 451


Dear Fahrenheit 451

Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

Dear Fahrenheit 451

Additional Resources

PDF Sellsheet

Dear Fahrenheit 451

Dear Fahrenheit 451

Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

Audio CD

10/10/2017

5 Audio CD

337 minutes

9781520087566

Audio Library Digital

10/10/2017

337 minutes

9781520087580

Audio Retail Digital

10/10/2017

337 minutes

9781520087597

Audio MP3 CD

10/10/2017

1 Audio MP3 CD

337 minutes

9781520087603

Playaway

10/10/2017

337 minutes

9781520087610

Playaway

10/10/2017

337 minutes

9781974950690

Description:

Librarians spend their lives weeding-not weeds, but books-books that have reached the end of their shelf life both literally and figuratively. They remove books that patrons no longer check out, and they put back books they treasure. Annie Spence, who has a decade of experience as a Midwestern librarian, does this not only at her Michigan library but also at home, for her neighbors, at cocktail parties-everywhere. In Dear Fahrenheit 451, she addresses those books directly. We read her love letters to The Goldfinch and Matilda as well as her snarky break-ups with Fifty Shades of Grey and Dear John. Her notes to The Virgin Suicides and The Time Traveler's Wife feel like classics that are sure to strike a powerful chord. Through the lens of the books in her life, Annie comments on feminism, culture, health, poverty, childhood aspirations, and more. Hilarious, compassionate, and wise, Dear Fahrenheit 451 is the consummate book-lover's birthday present, stocking stuffer, holiday gift, and all-purpose humor book.

Quotes:

...perfect for any bibliophile and terrifically funny. This book should appeal to readers who are looking for the next Texts from Jane Eyre, or those who enjoyed that concept but don't especially like texting. It will also attract anyone who, upon walking into someone's house, first side-eyes the bookshelves and instantly judges. VERDICT Highly recommended., Library Journal

Dear Dear Fahrenheit 451, thanks for the lovely reminder of the ways we find ourselves in books., Booklist

Spence's voice is ultimately so warm, funny, and specific… she's special because she has a unique ability to capture the thoughts and feelings of book lovers…, NPR

Readers (and librarians especially) will appreciate the sly stabs or 'roasting' that the author makes to point out fine and not-so-fine moments of key books that she is contemplating removing from her shelf. She weaves in stories from her life inside a library (which is fodder for chuckles in itself). Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson., Library Reads

A librarian delivers a charming epistolary volume that begs to be read with pencil in hand...A smart, funny, forthright librarian in book form., Kirkus

Related Titles:


Audiobook

Real Mermaids Don't Wear T…

Helene Boudreau

Audiobook

Saints and Sinners

Edna O'Brien

Audiobook

Blueprints for Building Be…

Elissa Schappell

Audiobook

The Doll

Daphne du Maurier

Audiobook

Stay Awake

Dan Chaon

Audiobook

Other People We Married

Emma Straub