Home Catalog Audiobooks Hell or High Water


Hell or High Water

Hell or High Water

Additional Resources

PDF Sellsheet

Hell or High Water

Hell or High Water

Audio CD

07/17/2012

10 Audio CD

723 minutes

9781611208856

Audio Library Digital

07/17/2012

723 minutes

9781611208870

Audio Retail Digital

07/17/2012

723 minutes

9781611208887

Audio MP3 CD

07/17/2012

2 Audio MP3 CD

723 minutes

9781611208894

Playaway

07/17/2012

723 minutes

9781611208900

Description:

Nola Cespedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, finally catches a break: an assignment to write her first full-length feature. While investigating her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in the French Quarter. As Nola's work leads her into a violent criminal underworld, she's forced to face disturbing truths from her own past. Vividly rendered in razor-sharp prose, this haunting thriller is a riveting journey of trust betrayed - and the courageous struggle to rebuild. Fast-paced, atmospheric, and with a knockout twist, Joy Castro's Hell or High Water features an unforgettable heroine as fascinating and multi-layered as New Orleans itself.

Quotes:

A terrific mystery, but Hell or High Water is more than just a mystery; it's a heartfelt examination of a second America - poor but undaunted - that was swept under the rug but refuses to stay there...I can't wait to see what Joy Castro does next., Dennis Lehane, , New York Times bestselling Author of Mystic River

...fierce and intense, with both harrowing depictions of New Orleans after Katrina and psychological mayhem for its troubled heroine, who crawls under your skin and lingers there long after you've finished reading., Kirkus

In the tradition of P.D. James, Ruth Rendell and Lucha Corpi, Joy Castro shows how mystery can be much more than the unraveling of crimes concealed. An irresistible and compelling novel., Lorraine M. Lopez, , Author of Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories

Starred review. Exquisite New Orleans background, intriguing newsroom politics and atmosphere, a flawed but plucky heroine, and skillfully paced suspense makes this a 'stay up way past your bedtime' read., Booklist

Related Titles:


Audiobook

Man in the Woods

Scott Spencer

Audiobook

The Priest

Gerard O'Donovan

Audiobook

So Much Pretty

Cara Hoffman

Audiobook

Killer Move

Michael Marshall

Audiobook

The Sixes

Kate White

Audiobook

The Sisters Brothers

Patrick deWitt