Home Catalog Audiobooks The Adults


Additional Resources

PDF Sellsheet

The Adults

The Adults

Audio Library Digital

02/08/2011

612 minutes

9781611200492

Audio Retail Digital

02/08/2011

612 minutes

9781611200454

Audio CD

02/08/2011

9 Audio CD

612 minutes

9781611200133

Playaway

02/08/2011

612 minutes

9781611201758

Description:

In her ruefully funny and wickedly perceptive debut novel, Alison Espach deftly dissects matters of the heart and captures the lives of children and adults as they come to terms with life, death, and love. At the center of this affluent suburban universe is Emily Vidal, a smart and snarky teenager, who gets involved in a suspect relationship with one of the adults after witnessing a suicide in her neighborhood. Among the cast of unforgettable characters is Emily's father, whose fiftieth birthday party has the adults descending upon the Vidal's patio; her mother, who has orchestrated the elaborate party even though she and her husband are getting a divorce; and an assortment of eccentric neighbors, high school teachers, and teenagers who teem with anxiety and sexuality and an unbridled desire to be noticed, and ultimately loved.

Quotes:

...astute and funny...as idiosyncratic as it is stirring..., The New York Times

One of the 5 Best Books of 2011. ...excellent...Espach peppers the pages with supremely quotable lines and wonderful descriptions that make The Adults easily one of the best books of 2011., The Long Island Press

On the Top 10 Fiction List for 2011. [a] sincere debut...Tavia Gilbert's narration adds candid poignancy to the story...Full of funny, wry, eccentric characters...recommended for fans of Cara Hoffman's So Much Pretty and Holly Goldberg Sloan's I'll Be There., Library Journal

One of the Editor's Choice Top Adult & Youth Audiobooks of the Year (2011). Starred Review. an engaging roller coaster of a listening experience. Gilbert is pitch-perfect in her delivery..., Booklist

Narrator Tavia Gilbert deftly captures Emily's vulnerability, confusion, and wry analysis...Gilbert's unaffected presentation avoids sensationalizing Emily's rough language or the occasional description of a sexual encounter. Subtle shifts of tone are all Gilbert needs to give Emily a convincing voice..., AudioFile Magazine

Related Titles:


Audiobook

The Best Laid Plans

Lynn Schnurnberger

Audiobook

The Storyteller of Marrake…

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Audiobook

The Sweet Relief of Missin…

Sarah Braunstein

Audiobook

Parents Behaving Badly

Scott Gummer

Audiobook

In Zanesville (CXLD)

Jo Ann Beard

Audiobook

Saints and Sinners

Edna O'Brien