Home Catalog Audiobooks The Storyteller of Marrakesh


Additional Resources

PDF Sellsheet

The Storyteller of Marrakesh

The Storyteller of Marrakesh

Audio Library Digital

01/31/2011

617 minutes

9781611200904

Audio Retail Digital

01/31/2011

617 minutes

9781611200447

Audio CD

01/31/2011

8 Audio CD

617 minutes

9781611200171

Playaway

01/31/2011

617 minutes

9781611201734

Description:

Each year, the storyteller, Hassan, gathers listeners to the city square to share their recollections of a young, foreign couple who mysteriously disappeared years earlier. As various witnesses describe their encounters with the couple, Hassan hopes to light upon the details that will explain what happened to them, and to absolve his own brother, who is in prison for their disappearance. But is this annual storytelling ritual a genuine attempt to uncover the truth, or is it intended instead to weave and ambiguous mythology around a crime? The first in an ambitious cycle of novels set in the Islamic world, The Storyteller of Marrakesh is an elegant exploration of the nature of reality and our shifting perceptions of truth.

Quotes:

Editor's Choice. An enigmatic fable in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights., The New York Times

Steeped in the ambience of Marrakesh, this exotic metafictional tale marks Roy-Bhattacharya's U.S. debut and will appeal to readers of complex narratives by unreliable narrators. Lovers of mysteries with ambiguous endings will also enjoy this novel., Library Journal

[A] broad, discursive, plausible, and often beguiling presentation of a contemporary Islamic culture changed little by centuries, geopolitics, globalization or religious enmity. Roy-Bhattacharya's descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses. In a time when tensions between Islam and the West are fevered, The Storyteller of Marrakesh offers an agreeable change of pace., Booklist

...a mosaic of stories winningly delivered by Gerard Kyle. Kyle's facility with portraying nationality and gender makes his narration a delight. He juggles dozens of characters, as well as Roy-Bhattacharya's elevated language, with a profound elegance., AudioFile Magazine

Related Titles:


Audiobook

The Best Laid Plans

Lynn Schnurnberger

Audiobook

Just Like Us

Helen Thorpe

Audiobook

The Adults

Alison Espach

Audiobook

The Sweet Relief of Missin…

Sarah Braunstein

Audiobook

Parents Behaving Badly

Scott Gummer

Audiobook

In Zanesville (CXLD)

Jo Ann Beard